April 17th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
PERIL IN PARISPERIL IN PARIS
Fresh Pick
ONE LAST WORD
ONE LAST WORD

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

April Showers Giveaways


April's Affections and Intrigues: Love and Mystery Bloom

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Investigating a conspiracy really wasn't on Nikki's very long to-do list.


slideshow image
Escape to the Scottish Highlands in this enemies to lovers romance!


slideshow image
It�s not the heat�it�s the pixie dust.


slideshow image
They have a perfect partnership�
But an attempt on her life changes everything.


slideshow image
Jealousy, Love, and Murder: The Ancient Games Turn Deadly


slideshow image
Secret Identity, Small Town Romance
Available 4.15.24


The Lost Book of Bonn by Brianna Labuskes

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Brianna Labuskes:

The Truth You Told, September 2024
Trade Paperback
The Lost Book of Bonn, March 2024
Paperback / e-Book
The Lies You Wrote, December 2023
Trade Paperback / e-Book
See It End, April 2023
Audio / audiobook
See It End, April 2023
Trade Paperback / e-Book
The Librarian of Burned Books, March 2023
Paperback / e-Book
A Familiar Sight, July 2021
Trade Size / e-Book
Her Final Words, August 2020
Trade Size / e-Book
It Ends With Her, May 2018
Hardcover / e-Book
One Step Behind, October 2016
e-Book

The Lost Book of Bonn
Brianna Labuskes

William Morrow Paperbacks
March 2024
On Sale: March 19, 2024
Featuring: Emmy Clarke
384 pages
ISBN: 0063259281
EAN: 9780063259287
Kindle: B0C8JC8Q8B
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Historical | Historical

For fans of The Rose Code and The Librarian Spy comes another literary themed historical novel from the author of The Librarian of Burned Books.

Germany, 1946: Emmy Clarke is a librarian not a soldier. But that doesn’t stop the Library of Congress from sending her overseas to Germany to help the Monuments Men retrieve and catalog precious literature that was plundered by the Nazis. The Offenbach Archival Depot and its work may get less attention than returning art to its rightful owners, but for Emmy, who sees the personalized messages on the inside of the books and the notes in margins of pages, it feels just as important.

On Emmy’s first day at work, she finds a poetry collection by Rainer Maria Rilke, and on the title page is a handwritten dedication: “To Annelise, my brave Edelweiss Pirate.” Emmy is instantly intrigued by the story behind the dedication and becomes determined to figure out what happened.

The hunt for the rightful owner of the book leads Emmy to two sisters, a horrific betrayal, and an extraordinary protest against the Nazis that was held in Berlin at the height of the war. Nearly a decade earlier, hundreds of brave women gathered in the streets after their Jewish husbands were detained by the Gestapo. Through freezing rain and RAF bombings, the women faced down certain death and did what so few others dared to do under the Third Reich. They said no.

Emmy grapples with her own ghosts as she begins to wonder if she’s just chasing two more. What she finds instead is a powerful story of love, forgiveness, and courage that brings light to even the darkest of postwar days. 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy