January 28th, 2023
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
CONQUER THE KINGDOMCONQUER THE KINGDOM
Fresh Pick
NO STRANGERS HERE
NO STRANGERS HERE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club

Valentine Giveaways


New Year, New Books in January

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
From evenings at Almack’s to carriage rides in Hyde Park, this Season will contain many pleasures—and a few surprises


slideshow image
A body has washed ashore. Along with her past.


slideshow image
Society’s most exclusive invitation...


slideshow image
With her signature charm and sense of humor, bestselling author Helena Hunting creates a novel about love, family, and second chances


slideshow image
A new story in Rebecca Zanetti's Dark Protectors/Rebels series…


slideshow image
A young woman with a complicated past finds herself fighting for her life in Alexandra Ivy’s thrilling novel of secrets, murder, and riveting romantic suspense . . .


Decent People
De'Shawn Charles Winslow

Bloomsbury Publishing
January 2023
On Sale: January 17, 2023
ISBN: 163557532X
EAN: 9781635575323
Kindle: B0B9KBHFYQ
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Mystery

From Center for Fiction First Novel Prize winning author De'Shawn Charles Winslow, a sweeping and unforgettable novel of a Black community reeling from a triple homicide, and the secrets the killings reveal.

In the still-segregated town of West Mills, North Carolina, in 1976, Marian, Marva, and Lazarus Harmon-three enigmatic siblings-are found shot to death in their home. The people of West Mills- on both sides of the canal that serves as the town's color line-are in a frenzy of finger-pointing, gossip, and wonder. The crime is the first reported murder in the area in decades, but the white authorities don't seem to have any interest in solving the case.

Fortunately, one person is determined to do more than talk. Miss Josephine Wright has just moved back to West Mills from New York City to retire and marry a childhood sweetheart, Olympus “Lymp” Seymore. When she discovers that the murder victims are Lymp's half-siblings, and that Lymp is one of West Mills's leading suspects, she sets out to prove his innocence. But as Jo investigates those who might know the most about the Harmons' deaths, she starts to discover more secrets than she'd ever imagined, and a host of cover-ups-ranging from medical misuse to illicit affairs-that could upend the reputations of many.

For readers of American Spy andBluebird, Bluebird, Decent People is a powerful new novel about shame, race, money, and the reckoning required to heal a fractured community.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2023 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy